Frode Fjellheim


Frode Fjellheim lives in Trondheim, Norway and is a Norwegian musician (piano and synthesizer), composer and yoiker (performer of the traditional Sámi vocal tradition). He is best known for his band Transjoik and for being the composer of the opening theme of the Disney movie “Frozen”. Fjellheim was educated as a classical piano teacher, but has developed his own style as a performer and composer, combining elements from the traditional Sámi tradition with elements from classical music, jazz, pop and rock. He has released several albums both as a solo artist, with his band Transjoik, and through various collaborations. Fjellheim also heads his own music company called Vuelie ( He holds a professorate in music at Nord University.

2002 Aillohas award
2004 Spellemannsprisen (Norwegian “Grammy” award)
2007 Sør-Trøndelag County Cultural Award
2015 Liv Ullmann prisen
2015 Hillmarprisen
2016 Gamlengprisen

Vuelie has released the following  CD´s and books by Frode Fjellheim:
Aejlies Gaaltije (2004)
Med joik som utgangspunkt (2004)
Joik for kor (2002)

Performing live in various settings;
Frode Fjellheim – solo
Øiseth/Fjellheim – duo
With Ulla Pirttijärvi
With Transjoik

Musician, composer, arranger, producer (m/c/a/p) on these CDs:
1989 Annbjørg Lien “Annbjørg” (m)
1991 Frode Fjellheim Sangen vi glemte/Mijjen Vuelieh (m/c/p)
1994 Frode Fjellheim JazzJoik Ensemble Saajve Dans (m/c/p)
1994 Sverre Porsanger “Lavllu Lavlla” (m/a/p)
1994 Tango Concertino Live in Olavshallen (m/a/p)
1994 Cantus “Cantus” (m/c)
1995 Berit Lillevold: “Ecstasy” (m/c/a/p)
1995 Bonzo Radio “Jul i nisseposten” (m/a/p)
1996 Eirik Lie 12 bilder(m/p)
1996 Kolbjørn Botten: Månin dre (m/p)
1996 Ella Holm Bull Julesanger på sørsamisk (m/a/p)
1996 Tango Concertino Tango Concertino/Marthe Werring (m/c/a/p)
1996 Cantus: Hei, for en vakker julsong. (m/c/a/p)
1997 TransJoik Mahkalahke (m/c/a/p)
1997 Ulla Pirttijärvi Ruossa Eanan(m/c/a/p)
1997 Ella Holm Bull Barnesanger på sørsamisk (m/a/p)
1998 Johan Hedin “Angel Archipelago” (m/a)
1999 Tone Hulbækmo “Kyrja” (m/p)
2000 Iren Reppen “Nattas Prinsesse” (m/c/p)
2000 TransJoik Meavraa (m/c/a/p)
2002 Ulla Pirttijärvi “Máttaráhku Askái” (m/c/a/p)
2003 Hans Fredrik Jacobsen: Vind (m/a/p)
2003 Kolbjørn Botten: Morild i blodet (m/p)
2004 Sonia Loinsworth: Songs of compassion (m/a/p)
2004 Frode Fjellheim: Aejlies Gaaltije (m/c/a/p)
2004 Transjoik: ”Uja Nami” (m/c/a/p)
2005 Transjoik: ”Bewafá” (m/c/a/p)
2006 Snorre Bjerck: ”My Place” (m/a/p)
2007 Quintus: ”Nuewje” (m)
2008 Ulla Pirttijärvi “Áibbašeabmi”
2011 Bárut “Bálggis” (m/c/a/p)
2013 Mari Boine & KORK  Gilvve Gollát – Sow your Gold (m/a/p)
2013 Frozen (Frost) Soundtrack (c)
2015 Cantus – Frode Fjellheim “Spes” (m/c)
2015  Anne Vada “As I Walk” (m/c/a/p)
2015 Katarina Barruk “Báruos” (m/a/p)
2017 Marja Mortensson “Aarehgïjre – Early Spring” (m/c/a/p)
2017 Cantus “Northern Lights” DECCA (c/a)
2019 Frozen 2 Soundtrack (c)

Comments Box SVG iconsUsed for the like, share, comment, and reaction icons

Facebook Posts

6 months ago

Frode Fjellheim

Here it is: Vuelie with the Stay at Home Choir 🙂. ... See MoreSee Less

Video image

Comment on Facebook

Dear Frode It was only with your great support that this great piece came into being. Thank you for that. Also from our granddaughter, who was allowed to sing in the children's choir. We still laugh together today about our first Yoik attempts. Greetings from Germany

Thank you for the great song. We enjoyed it very much, even our granddaughter sang along in the children's choir. ❤️🍀🤗

Thank you Frode, such a wonderful project to be part of 🎼❤️

A wonderful song keeping old traditions alive. So proud to have taken part in this wonderful project. Thank you so much 💝

Thank you. This was a great experience.

View more comments

1 years ago

Frode Fjellheim

See you January 24th 🙂Vuelie with Frode Fjellheim is only a couple of weeks away 😊 We can’t wait to learn to yoik! 🎶 Put these key dates in your diary and look out for our full rehearsal schedule coming soon. Not signed up yet? Register here: ... See MoreSee Less

See you January 24th :-)

Comment on Facebook

We are really looking forward to it. Our granddaughter want to sing in the children's choir.

Can't wait! 🤩😍💙

1 years ago

Frode Fjellheim

Noe for dine barn eller barnebarn? 🙂 Tror det blir flott og gleder meg!Do you know a young person who loves to sing? 🎶 Calling all young singers (ages 4+) to join our Vuelie children’s choir, to sing a new children’s voice part written especially by composer Frode Fjellheim. No experience necessary and it’s free to take part 😊

Please share with all of the young singers in your life (especially Frozen fans! ☃️) - full info and FAQs here:
... See MoreSee Less

Noe for dine barn eller barnebarn? 🙂 Tror det blir flott og gleder meg!

Comment on Facebook

Cecilie Haugseth


Load more